Two Woodbury Educators Up for Teacher of the Year Award

What can you tell us about Matt Karasek and Jennifer Thorne? Leave a note in the comments section below.

District 833 educators Matt Karasek and Jennifer Thorne are among the candidates for Education Minnesota’s 2013 Teacher of the Year award.

Karasek, a teacher at East Ridge High School, and Thorne, a teacher at Middleton Elementary, are among 135 up for the honor. It’s the largest field of candidates since 2005, according to a release from Education Minnesota.

A 25-member panel will name a group of semifinalists and finalists before the winner is announced May 5 at a ceremony at the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest in Brooklyn Park.

The program, in its 49th year, receives support from Education Minnesota ESI, The Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, McDonald’s Restaurants of Minnesota, Marriott Minneapolis Northwest, Pearson Education, The SMARTer Kids Foundation, TruStone Financial and United Educators Credit Union.


Like Patch on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Sign up for our free newsletter

Kris Janisch February 07, 2013 at 07:52 PM
Mathew Karasek is an English language teacher at East Ridge High School, and Jennifer Thorne is a second grade teacher at Middleton Elementary School.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »