District 833: Fourteen Apply for School Board Spot

Chair Leslee Boyd is stepping down from the South Washington County School Board.

District 833 saw 14 people apply for the school board position current Chair Leslee Boyd will vacate at the end of the calendar year.

Boyd is planning to move out of state. See: School Board Chair Leslee Boyd Resigns

According to a release from South Washington County Schools, the 14 people are:

Cottage Grove 

  • Sue Berthiaume
  • Rick Goecke
  • Mike Heavner
  • Steve Lagoon
  • William Thurmes
  • Stacey Vogele


  • Kathleen McElwee-Stevens

St. Paul Park

  • Katie Schwartz


  • Dick Hanson
  • Jonathan Hunt
  • Marisa Novak
  • Daryl Parks
  • Joseph Ryan
  • Lisa Vaske

“With 14 individuals expressing interest, the School Board will now determine how to screen the applicants,” reads the release. “Once known, the district will release the information regarding when the interviews will take place. The process will conclude with approval of the selected applicant at their regular meeting on Thursday, Dec. 20.”

The person selected will begin Jan. 1, 2013, and serve until the next election, Nov. 5, 2013.


Katie Schwartz, Steve Lagoon and Joseph Ryan ran in the 2011 school board election, which saw the incumbents hold their seats.


Like Patch on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Sign up for our free newsletter


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something